top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexis McCarley

A Whisper In The Dark ARC Review

This book manages to do something incredibly interesting in just the first few pages. The introduction to the book left me with an amused grin, and an idea of just how fun and sassy this book would be - which is what I've come to expect from Jessi Elliott - but a handful of pages later and I'm made aware of the glittery fun facade, cracking to reveal what looks to be a gritty, dark novel. One that promised to be full of heartache and sorrow, but also growth.


It didn't disappoint.





It was about the halfway point of the book that I found myself incredibly nervous, because I was already committed to the story of Charlotte and how in the world could I be half way done with this book? That's a sign of an amazing novel, and amazing this one proved to be.


Rich descriptions brought a fantasy city to life behind my eyes. I was transported to glittering manors, decrepit buildings and vast underground waterways. The sights, the sounds, the smells. It was so vibrant, without being monotonous in it's detail.


As with all good series, this one ended leaving me almost screaming. I wanted more, I needed to know what was happening. Who these people were, what motivated them. To say I am anxiously awaiting the next book is an understatement.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Breathless Book Review

How my first review of a Dean Koontz novel isn't for Watchers is beyond me, because if asked what my favorite book ever is that's what claims the top spot. Breathless however, has always and will alwa

How To Write A Best Seller During Quarantine.

Spoiler alert: you can't. Lemme rephrase that, because I refuse to tell people what they can and can't do. I know so many people who are living their best lives while stuck at home for days or weeks o

bottom of page