top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexis McCarley

Breathless Book Review

How my first review of a Dean Koontz novel isn't for Watchers is beyond me, because if asked what my favorite book ever is that's what claims the top spot. Breathless however, has always and will always hold a special place in my heart. I've always adored the way this master thriller writer adds in the most lovable canine characters into every page he writes. From Einstein to Merlin to Lassie, I'm surprised I don't own one of each breed because he makes me love them all so much.


What I didn't count on were Puzzle and Riddle, I won't spoil the magic for you but my god does that rambunctious pair leap off the page with such enthusiasm.


I think what I've always liked about Koontz novels is the way he breaks chapters up between a half dozen or so different characters who couldn't possibly have anything to do with one another, right? But then, somehow they do? In ways that, by the time we get to them make total sense but 60 pages ago I would never have guessed that was happening.


Breathless is no exception, if anything I'm left even more impressed because these people - how could they possibly interact in ways that make sense? Oh, that's how.


It's a beautifully written novel you guys, with locations that - excuse my wordplay - will leave you breathless. I can see the light of the golden hour, I can smell the sawdust of the workshop. All of it. It's an astounding novel that leaves one with a sense of hope.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page