top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexis McCarley

Twisted Fate Book Review

Twisted Fate popped up as a suggested post in my Facebook feed one day, thanks stalker algorithms for knowing I had been googling about books. (No, seriously, thank you I am in love with this book!) I had never heard of Jessi Elliot, or the New Adult fantasy novel she was working on. She had shared a snip-it of dialog between the main character Aurora, and her fae counterpart Tristan. It was sassy and made me laugh. I followed along the few months before the book was published, growing more and more anxious to finally read it. Would it live up to my expectations? I had never followed an author waiting for their book to be published before, so this was very new to me.


The day the book came out I downloaded it and stayed up far too late finishing it, because I couldn't put it down because it was so different than anything I have read before (and I read a lot). See, a lot of novels have points where you go "Oh, I think I know what is about to happen." Which, sometimes is fun but usually it makes reading dull. I can safely say I never had a freaking clue what was about to happen in Twisted Fate, even if I tried to guess I was always wrong and it was awesome. It was like Jessi did it on purpose, emphasizing on certain things to make you think about them in a specific way only to turn and go the completely other direction. It was amazingly refreshing.


Those fun twists literally went on until the last words spoke on the last page, I was stunned with the ending and was already chomping at the bit for the sequel, Twisted Gift, because I needed to know (and still do!) what happened to all of those characters and their lives that I had become invested in. Very few books have actually brought me to tears, and this was one of them. The characters felt so real, they had faceted personalities full of virtues and vices and I felt myself rooting for them to succeed and being legitimately upset at their failings.


There was just so much packed into just 300 short pages, that I couldn't believe it. It was a powerhouse book, and I am beyond excited to see where Jessi takes readers in the next one.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Breathless Book Review

How my first review of a Dean Koontz novel isn't for Watchers is beyond me, because if asked what my favorite book ever is that's what claims the top spot. Breathless however, has always and will alwa

bottom of page